Homemade Beer Bread

Apparently, being 30 and single is code for the fact that I am unable to cook or bake and catch a man.  Or so my family thinks.  Every family function that requires a dish to be passed, I am relegated to providing an appetizer.  I assume because they are simple to prepare (or can easily be bought in a grocery store).  Which tends to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, because I only live up to their mild expectations.  The day before Thanksgiving, I can be found having drinks with friends instead of baking pumpkin and pecan pies because my offering can be whipped up with little preparation the next morning.

My fail safe is homemade beer bread with some sort of fancy dip that only requires me to mix a packet of spices with a brick of cream cheese or tub of sour cream.  At least part of it is homemade, right?

Below is my simple recipe for delicious homemade beer bread.

Beer Bread

3 cups self-rising flour (self-rising and not regular flour is important)

1 cup sugar

1 can of beer

Mix the flour, sugar and beer.  Pour into a greased bread pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

This bread also pairs well with hearty soups and is fabulous when made into homemade bread bowls!  See, I really can cook and mix things up a bit.

Do you have any go-to recipes for potlucks or family get togethers?  Are you always expected to bring the same foods?

Leave a Reply

