Guilty Pleasures: Alcohol

Guilty pleasures are some of the most sensational things in life.  I grew up with a healthy dose of Catholic guilt, so I am well-versed in the art of feeling bad for something that makes you feel good.  Now I simply don’t feel guilty for finding pleasure in the little things in life.

I love a good drink and the holiday season seems to bring about more opportunities to have a few social cocktails.  For me, the holiday season starts with my birthday, which is typically celebrated about a week before Thanksgiving, and lasts well into the new year.

In honor of this season filled with celebrating some of the pleasures in life, here are a few of my favorite things:

 

Bailey’s Irish Cream

 

Festive! This drink screams Christmas after dinner drink to me.

 

Such a lovely holiday treat!  I even bought an ice mold tray that will make ice shot glasses.  I thought it would be perfect for the Bailey’s.

 

Find at PerpetualKid.com

 

I will report back on whether or not it was successful.

 

Schlafly’s Pumpkin Ale

 

I haven’t tasted a Schlafly’s beer that I did not enjoy. They are that good.

 

I am quite particular about pumpkin ale.  This St. Louis brewery is phenomenal and their seasonal pumpkin ale is the best I have ever tasted.  I never seem to get enough of it before it is off the shelves.  Note to self: purchase in excess before it is sold out for the season.

 

Ketel One Vodka

 

Smooth

 

I was not always particular about what kind of vodka I drank.  In college, the five dollar bottle was economical and got the job done for tailgating purposes.  Now that I have a more discerning palette and suffer from hangovers more easily, I prefer to spend a bit more money for the smooth taste and ability to function the next day.  I recommend putting this bottle in the freezer for an even smoother effect.

 

Avion Tequila

 

Your marketing strategies worked on me, Turtle.

 

As with the vodka, I am willing to pay for the smoother tequila.  I did not even realize that Avion was an actual brand;  I simply thought it was concocted for Entourage.  When I saw the perfect smaller sized bottle for my margarita needs, I snapped a bottle up to check it out.  I was impressed.  Well played, Turtle.  Well played.

** Need a perfect margarita recipe?  Check this one out:  Margarita Recipe

 

Captain Morgan

 

This has been in my flask more than once.

 

Does it mean I am an alcoholic if the Friday night bartender at the nearest watering hole to my work place knows exactly what to pour me when I walk in after a long work week?  I didn’t think so.

 

Perfect Captain Morgan mixer.

 

Captain Morgan and Diet Dr. Pepper is my go-to after work drink on a Friday night.  I have converted more people than you would think to mixing this spiced rum with Diet Dr. Pepper.  If you haven’t tried it, please do.  Delicious.

 

X Rated Fusion 

 

I doubt I could get many men to try this drink!

 

When I want a girly drink, I turn to this pretty pink liquor.  Mixed with a cheap bottle of champagne, this mango, blood orange and passion fruit infused vodka makes an excellent girls night in cocktail.

 

Cavit Pinot Grigio

 

The subtle pear notes are wonderful.

 

A lovely pinot grigio to have with a plate of cheese or chicken dish.  It is very drinkable and reasonably priced, which is important for a simple wine with your meal.

 

Robert Mondavi Pinot Noir

 

Anyone want to share a bottle?

 

For me, this is the perfect inexpensive light bodied dry red to enjoy with a nice Italian meal.  Cheers to comfort food and table wine!

 

Any recommendations for new beverages that I should try?  Is it the weekend yet?

Leave a Reply

