Ice Hockey

I was disappointed that I did not get to see a V formation.

I was disappointed that I did not get to see a V formation.

 

I recently attended an ice hockey game, supporting our local team as they celebrated Mighty Ducks night.  It was announced that it is the 20th anniversary of the movie.  If I didn’t feel old before the game, I certainly did when they announced that stat.

I forgot how chilly it can actually feel near the ice and because of our unseasonably warm weather I forgot my gloves, which made holding my beer less inviting.  I don’t understand ice hockey very well, but I enjoy the action of the game, particularly when men are slammed up against the plexiglass in front of me or when a fight breaks out.  I always feel awful for the goalie because they seem to take quite the verbal beating from the crowd.  I’m not sure why I don’t feel bad about the men getting pummeled in the face but I cringe when the home crowd razzes the visiting goalie.

My favorite part actually occurs between periods, when they have entertaining games with the crowd and of course when the zamboni makes and appearance to smooth out the ice.  This particular zamboni has an advertisement for the local newspaper, which is not exactly high quality journalism, depicting an average looking woman next to the phrase “I get it 7 days a week.”  You wish, lady.  You wish.

Have you had any recent experiences that have made you feel old?

Leave a Reply

