Guilty Pleasures: Holiday Music

Guilty pleasures are some of the most sensational things in life.  I grew up with a healthy dose of Catholic guilt, so I am well-versed in the art of feeling bad for something that makes you feel good.  Now I simply don’t feel guilty for finding pleasure in the little things in life.

The most wonderful music of the year!

The most wonderful music of the year!

 

Since the calendar flipped over to December 1st, I have been obsessed with Christmas music.  I rarely listen to Pandora any other time of the year, but I can’t go a day without Christmas Radio right now.

The following songs compel me to turn up the volume:

“Song For A Winter’s Night”   Sarah McLachlan

Soulful, this song tugs at my heartstrings.  And makes me wish for someone to cuddle up with on a cold winter’s night.

“Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy”   Tchaikovsky

Classic and full of whimsy, this song always makes me feel like a little kid again, waiting on Christmas Eve for Santa to arrive.

 “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”  Brenda Lee

This song always brings me back to sitting on the couch watching Kevin McAllistar set up the most elaborate fake party to ward off thieves.

“Little Drummer Boy”  My Church Choir

Nothing beats hearing this song in church on Christmas Eve, listening intently to the part where they have just the women and then just the men sing because I could always pick out my grandpa and grandma’s voices.  I will never hear this again because they can no longer make it up the steep stairs to be a part of the choir and I get teary eyed just thinking about it.

“The Christmas Song”   Alvin and the Chipmonks

This is my go-to wrapping gifts song.  I start off with this fun-loving bit and then let shuffle take me where it may.

“Christmastime is Here”   Vince Guaraldi

Charlie Brown is the most lovable loser in existence and this song brings a smile to my face every season when I hear it for the first time.

“My Favorite Things”  Julie Andrews

I never realized that this song was associated with Christmas until recently.  I always just connected it to my favorite childhood movie.  Now I love it just a little bit more (if that was even possible!)

“O Holy Night”   Josh Groban

Divine.

What are some of your favorite Christmas songs?

Leave a Reply

