Brand Loyalty

I purchase the generic brand of many products on a regular basis.  But there are certain items with which I have brand loyalty.  I don’t know if I should blame advertising or if I am genuinely enamored with these products, but for better or worse, here they are:

So fresh and so clean.

So fresh and so clean.

Tide Laundry Detergent

It may sound strange, but I loved it when I started doing my own laundry and was in control of buying my own cleaning products. I love the fresh scent when I pull on a crisp laundered top.

Warm and fuzzy sheets.

Warm and fuzzy sheets.

Downy Fabric Softener and Dryer Sheets

See above.  I’m a freak.

Has to be the semi-sweet.

Has to be the semi-sweet.

Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chips

Nothing beats this classic.  Or the recipe on the package.  I was in awe when my grandma shared that this was her fabulous recipe, along with what she claims is the secret ingredient:  Mexican vanilla.  My cousin and I are convinced it is also the oven she cooks them in.  Always reminds me of the Friends episode where Phoebe finds out it is her mother’s recipe.

No beating this Disney classic.

No beating this Disney classic.

Disney Cartoons

When I was a child, I loved the movie The Little Mermaid.  For Easter one year, I received a copy of it.  A generic copy.  I tried to contain my disappointment because I knew that my mom had tried to get me what I wanted within their budget, but it just wasn’t the same.  I was so young I didn’t even realize that there were other versions of these movies.

Sometimes you have to splurge.

Sometimes you have to splurge.

Mountain Dew

When it comes to a caffeine, nothing beats this neon colored sugar-laden citrus drink.  Mello Yello, Sun Drop, or Vault don’t do a thing for me.

Strong enough for a man, made for a woman.

Strong enough for a man, made for a woman.

Secret Deodorant

The brand I started out with as an adolescent still works beautifully for me today.  I also appreciate that they have come up with a clinical strength that I use every evening as well.

Mmm, mmm... good.

Mmm, mmm… good.

Campbell’s Tomato Soup

Even my mom’s homemade canned tomato soup can’t beat this classic.  Only Campbell’s with my grilled cheese sandwiches, please.

Do you have brand loyalty to any products?

2 thoughts on “Brand Loyalty

  1. I am also brand loyal to Tide. Most of my brand loyalty is to beauty and hair products. I’ve used Aveda shampoo and conditioner exclusively for about twenty years. My hair is always so soft and shiny from it. I am also very loyal to Bobbi Brown cosmetics, her stuff makes my skin look flawless.

  2. I know exactly what you mean about hair and beauty products! A mix of Bare Minerals and Urban Decay for my make-up and Redkin All Soft for my hair. I should have included the Aveda Hand and Foot Relief. Have you ever tried it? It is amazing!!! (And always one of my splurges around the holidays.)

Leave a Reply

