Winter Mornings

Looks so peaceful.  Don't you just want to sleep?

Looks so peaceful. Don’t you just want to sleep?

No matter what time of the year it is, I am never a morning person.  My alarm clock and I have never had a good relationship.  I am very bitter towards it.  I simply enjoy sleep too much.  I won’t even get up fifteen minutes early to make myself breakfast, which keeps me fairly reliant on the granola bar industry.  Winter mornings strike a fear in me that no other mornings do, though.

All of a sudden, with the time change and season, the sun has not fully risen until eight o’clock in the morning.  That makes it extremely challenging to convince my internal clock that I should be waking up two hours before the sun rises.  I feel like a zombie getting ready in the morning.  There is no vigor and vital to my step.  I am lucky that I get eyeshadow on my eyelids and not my cheeks.  I honestly still feel half asleep as I walk outside my door to get into my car.  I’m sure it is not safe for me to be driving in this condition!  Of course, in the summer, when it is bright and glorious early in the morning, I am able to sleep in until eight in the morning.  Irony, you strike again.

Don’t even get me started on evenings.  It is dark already at five in the afternoon.  I am motivated to get some things done around the house, but my body thinks that because it is dark it should get some rest.  Some nights I legitimately feel ready for bed at 5:30 p.m.  I fight it, but there are some nights that I just want to give into the temptation and cuddle up under a fluffy down comforter, turn on a Christmas movie I have watched countless times and let myself drift off into a peaceful sleep.  But unfortunately then I feel even more tired the next morning when I actually get a decent amount of sleep at night! Vicious cycle.

Is your sleep pattern interrupted in the winter?

Leave a Reply

