Cabin Fever

This is the third day in a row that I have been stuck in my home.  We received twelve inches of snow followed by fifty miles per hour winds, causing extensive drifting on the major highways around me.  I am someone who dreads driving in winter weather conditions.  The sad thing is, I trust my driving in this weather.  It is the ridiculous people around me that scare me into staying home.

Winter Wonderland

Winter Wonderland

 

Day one I stayed busy cleaning the house and shoveling snow.  It consumed my morning and then I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon of holiday movies.  I will admit that it was quite satisfying to snuggle up on the couch, being lazy watching movies because there was honestly not much else I could do.  On day two I woke up and started out by doing some writing.  I didn’t even change out of my pajamas until well after noon, thinking that I could get used to this, but knowing that I need adult interaction and could never sustain my mental health if I worked from my home.  I became a phone person, chatting up a storm, even though I typically despise long phone conversations.  I simply wanted to have a connection to another human being.

Today looks to be similar.  By the afternoon, I am assuming that the main roads will be drivable, but I still would prefer to stay safe in my home if I don’t have to travel.  At least I know that I have family coming to town tonight that I plan on meeting up with, but I desperately want to get out and do something.  Anything.  I need to go grocery shopping for Christmas morning.

Strangely enough, I still have not found the time to wrap all my Christmas presents.  I guess somethings are just the definition of perfect for procrastination.  It gets me in the spirit to wrap right before the event.

What do you do to pass the time when you are stuck at home for multiple days in a row?

Leave a Reply

